Cormack - A Piece of History
The Upper Humber Settlement is a defining name for us. It's the place that shapes us, gives us purpose, and connects us to our roots.
In 1946, the first war veterans arrived to The Upper Humber Land Settlement. 163 were approved for the program but had to complete training to follow through with the relocation scheme. The Upper Humber Land Settlement was designed and intended to both rejuvenate the island's declining agricultural industry and provide an area for returning war veterans to settle. Under this program each family would get 50 acres of land, of which 10 acres had to be cleared before settlement, plus a six room bungalow and money ($724) for the purchase of foundation livestock, farm implements, seeds and fertilizers, barn construction, and one winter’s maintenance allowance.
The first families endured harsh conditions, labor intensive work, tough winters and at times had to walk 10-15 miles to Deer Lake for supplies. They had to work for a living in the woods, complete the work on their houses and provide firewood for the winter months.
96 Original Cormack Houses were built. The style was all the same and has become an icon of the community and the historical Veteran settlement. The original 28' x 30' houses were large enough but they did have their problems. Green lumber was used for construction, they had no insulation or basements and the brick chimneys often developed large cracks in them. Even when completed the houses were extremely cold. A replica has been built at the Town Centre as part of a historical reservation project.
In 1948, this settlement was founded as a community and named Cormack.
Cormack is our home. It's where our parents were born and the place our forefathers have settled and pioneered into one of the most unique farming communities of Newfoundland. We take pride in our heritage and are proud to have started our small sustainable farm in our home community.